Register of national councils of national minorities

Members of national minorities may elect their national councils to exercise their rights to self-government in culture, education, information and official use of language and script.


National councils have been established by members of 20 national minorities: Bunjevci, Bulgarians, Bosniaks, Hungarians, Roma, Romanians, Ruthenians, Slovaks, Ukrainians, Croats, Albanians, Ashkali, Vlachs, Greeks, Egyptians, Germans, Slovenians, Czechs, Macedonians and Montenegrins. The Executive Committee of the Serbian Association of Jewish Communities acts as a national council under the law. The Ministry of Public Administration and Local Self-Government is in charge of keeping the Register of National Councils of National Minorities.

Skip to content