Special Electoral Roll

A Special Electoral Roll is an official record of members of a national minority with the right to vote. A Special Electoral Roll is permanent and is updated on a regular basis, using modern technologies, in the form of an electronic database.


Members of a national minority are registered with a Special Electoral Roll exclusively at personal request, provided they comply with the general conditions to be eligible to vote in accordance with the law. A member of a national minority may be registered with only one Special Electoral Roll.


Special Electoral Rolls are maintained by municipal or city administrations as a delegated duty until the closing of the Special Electoral Rolls (15 days before the election day).


Members of national minorities submit applications for registration with a Special Electoral Roll to the local self-government unit of their residence, or temporary residence in case of internally displaced persons; applications are submitted in writing to the municipal or city administration of the applicant’s place of residence.


Special Electoral Rolls are maintained for 22 national minorities, namely: Albanian, Ashkali. Bosniak, Bulgarian, Bunjevac, Croatian, Czech, Egyptian, Greek, German, Hungarian, Macedonian, Montenegrin, Polish, Roma, Romanian, Russian, Ruthenian, Slovak, Slovenian, Ukrainian and Vlach and national minorities.

Skip to content